LP - City & Eastern Songs

LP - City & Eastern Songs

  • $20.00
    Unit price per 

Only 0 left!

Note: Shipping/packaging cost will be calculated/added at the end of the check-out process.

(ALSO NOTE: For buyers in the UK or Europe - you might get cheaper postage rates by ordering this LP direct from Rough Trade's overseas website, instead of ordering it shipped from here in the USA.)  

Jeffrey & Jack Lewis: City & Eastern Songs; Deluxe Vinyl Reissue!  2018.

The classic third album from Jeffrey Lewis, with brother Jack Lewis!  And the first Jeffrey Lewis album to feature long-time collaborator David Beauchamp on drums. Originally released on CD by Rough Trade Records in 2005, appearing on vinyl for the first time, on Don Giovanni Records, fully remastered and with bonus material inserts!

Black vinyl with 4 page artwork/lyric sheet and additional replica insert of original Williamsburg Will Oldham Horror lyric scrawl.

The LP comes with a download code for the full album (plus five bonus tracks!). 

Produced by NYC indie-rock mad genius Kramer (Galaxie 500, Daniel Johnston, Low) this album, the first studio production in the Jeffrey Lewis discography, established Jeffrey Lewis (and his co-credited brother Jack) as an undeniable force to be reckoned with. The perfect mash-up between Jeffrey's previous lo-fi songwriting efforts and later full-band releases, this album features all-time fan-favourite tracks like Don't Be Upset and Anxiety Attack. Not to mention the jaw-dropping shaggy-dog Williamsburg Will Oldham Horror, the closest thing the 21st Century hipster generation has ever had to boasting their own generation-defining Alice's Restaurant Massacre. The rock songs rock and the folk songs dazzle.

“A masterful collection of neurotic, ramshackle folk spiked with bursts of punk.” Time Out New York (2006 Best-Of List)

“Jeffrey Lewis is a god, there’s no denying it.” Drowned in Sound

"Most infectious Pop Song 2006 – Jeffrey & Jack Lewis’ ‘Posters’” Mike Lupica, WFMU




1) Posters (music video by Mark Locke here! )

2) Don't Be Upset

3) Williamsburg Will Oldham Horror  (music video by Mark Locke here!)

4) Something Good

5) The Singing Tree


6) Anxiety Attack (music video by Kidam here!)

7) Time Machine

8) Moving

9) Art Land

10) New Old Friends

11) They Always Knew

12) Had It All (music video by Greg Condon here!)


This album also features some musical and/or vocal contributions from John Kessel, Peter Stampfel, Perry Robinson, Kramer, Tuli Kupferberg and Thelma Blitz!




1) Buy Nothing Day (never-before-released studio out-take from the Kramer sessions)

2) Journey To the Center of the Earth (never-before-released studio out-take from the Kramer sessions)

3) Sad Math (never-before-released studio out-take from the Kramer sessions)

4) Arnold Layne (Jeffrey & Jack live on the radio, UK 2006)

5) The Singing Tree (live in Berlin, 2007, with introduction by Professor Louie)