Vinyl LP - A Turn in the Dream-Songs (Green Vinyl)

  • $20.99
    Unit price per 

Only 31 left!

13 song vinyl LP on Krongu green slime colored vinyl. (This is a mockup image, actual green vinyl color may vary.) Originally released on Rough Trade Records.  Recorded on analogue tape at Analogue Catalog vintage recording studio in Manchester, UK, in Feb 2011 and mixed on an analogue mixing board at the same location in May 2011.  All songs written by Jeffrey Lewis.



1) To Go and Return

2) How Can It Be

3) I Got Lost

4) Boom Tube

5) Time Trades

6) Cult Boyfriend

7) Krongu Green Slime


8) Try It Again

9) When You're By Yourself

10) So What If I Couldn't Take It Anymore

11) From Draz

12) Water Leaking, Water Moving

13) Reaching

The backing band on the album is:

Drums: David Beauchamp (of Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard and Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)

Bass: Adam Beach (of Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)

Cello: Joe Zeitlin (of Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)

Mandolin: Franic Rozycki (of The Wave Pictures).

Additional musicians on various tracks are:

Much of the female backing vox throughout: Frances McKee (of The Vaselines)

Backing vox on "How Can It Be": most members of Dr. Dog

Saxophones and recorders and backing vox: Lucy Baines (of Misty's Big Adventure)

Melodicas and backing vox: Grandmaster Gareth (of Misty's Big Adventure)

Flute: Dina Levy (of Prewar Yardsale)

Female vox on "Reaching": Annie Hart (of Au Revoir Simone)

Additional backing vocals on a couple tracks from Nan Turner and Major Matt Mason (both of Schwervon)


"Jeffrey Lewis is my homeboy. [...] ..often funny and sometimes fanciful... a cult multitalent." - Robert Christgau, NPR (All Things Considered)

"If all is fair in life, then Jeffrey Lewis will one day be Poet Laureate of New York City. [...] If his cult standing is inescapable, at least to the select few who treasure Lewis’ every bon mot he will forever be a voice of truth and comfort." - Popmatters

"As usual, though still impressively, these songs rarely, if ever, come across as bitter or overly self-pitying; Lewis hasn't lost his knack for balancing depressed and depressing subject matter with insightfulness, sincerity, levity, and charm [...] ...imaginative, contemplative, densely wordy, slightly silly but unflinchingly earnest... the album still ranks right up there among his best." - All Music (4 of 5 stars)

"Despite this record not displaying Lewis’ greatest lyrical accomplishments, it’s still packed with sharp one-liners and a determination to almost water down his brilliance with comedy. He’s proven time and again that he is quite possibly the greatest lyricist around, and with his work you never have to look too hard to see traces of his genius and unique wit. " - Virgin Music Review

"Modern-day renaissance man Jeffrey Lewis brings so many things to the table that any new record from him more or less automatically becomes the most full-spectrum entertainment experience in town. [...He has] a songwriting style that presses so many right buttons that he immediately sounds familiar, every time. A Turn in the Dream-Songs is both classic Lewis and also his most developed work yet[...]." - Sound Fix

"A Turn in the Dream-Songs is another fine example of Lewis' witty, thoughtful, boho worldview." - Brooklyn Vegan

"Jeffrey comes out of it all reeking of genius." - This Is Fake DIY (9 of 10 stars)

"Unabashedly weird, surprisingly wise." - Mojo (4 of 5 stars)

"...the New York artist breathlessly unspools literate tales of woe that 'Flight Of The Conchords’ writers would slay for. [...] a maverick in his element." - NME

Also note: The images here are just digital mock-ups, not literal photos. So the actual vinyl-color and the cover-image cropping may not be exact to these images; it'll be pretty close anyway.

We Also Recommend