CD - "Works by Tuli Kupferberg" by Jeffrey Lewis & The Deposit Returners

CD - "Works by Tuli Kupferberg" by Jeffrey Lewis & The Deposit Returners

  • $10.00
    Unit price per 

Only 26 left!

Note: Shipping/packaging cost will be calculated/added at the end of the check-out process. 

Alternatively you can download directly from Bandcamp here.

"Works by Tuli Kupferberg (1923-2010), As Interpreted (And/Or Misinterpreted) by Jeffrey Lewis & The Deposit Returners"

15 song CD released on Don Giovanni Records, 2018, recorded by Jeffrey Lewis & The Deposit Returners (featuring Steve Espinola and Peter Stampfel!).

Underground legend Tuli Kupferberg (1923-2010) was always the oldest man in rock and roll, co-founding the Fugs in the winter of 1964-1965 when he was already in his early 40s.  Being twice the age of Dylan, Reed, Jagger, et. al, never stopped Tuli from consistently being more outrageous.  Latter-day bohemian torch-bearer Jeffrey Lewis befriended Tuli in the early 2000s, and has personally organized “Tuli-day” memorial tribute concerts every year since Tuli’s passing.  This album documents some of the finer fruits of Jeffrey’s tribute arrangements, drawing from a four-decade range of Tuli’s various creative voices, from poignant 60s classics (“Morning Morning”) to never-recorded lyrics (“Listen to the Mockingbird”), poems set to music (“The And Song”), works that Tuli called parasongs (“I Wanna Hold Your Foot”) and later-period Fugs gems (“Try to Be Joyful”).  Across the board Jeffrey Lewis directs a co-ed band of wild and wooly cohorts, including original Fugs member Peter Stampfel, to bring the same surprising interpretive life to these covers as he brought to his critically-acclaimed “12 Crass Songs” album.  Whether or not you’re a Fugs fan or a Jeffrey Lewis fan, “Works by Tuli Kupferberg” is a rollicking, laughing, tear-jerking, psychedelic ride through a hidden history of New York City folk-punk sub-genius.  Recorded in the free-wheeling spirit of the original 1965 Fugs recordings, this is an album fifty years in the making.
Also available on Bandcamp here.


1) What Are You Doing After The Orgy?

2) Try To Be Joyful

3) Morning Morning

4) I Wanna Hold Your Foot

5) Not Enough Loving

6) This Is A Hit Song

7) This Train Is Bound For Brooklyn

8) Carpe Diem

9) Love & Ashes

10) Hypothalamus

11) Life Is Strange 

12) Listen To The Mockingbird 

13) The And Song 

14) I Was Much Mistaken 

15) No Deposit No Return 

TOTAL TIME: 48 minutes



Jeffrey Lewis = guitar, vocal, keyboard, melodica, and producing 
Brian Speaker = electric lead guitar, and engineering/recording 
Steve Espinola = piano, electric tennis racket, vocal 
Peter Stampfel = fiddle, vocal 
Mem Pahl = bass, vocal 
Brent Cole = drums, vocal 
Heather Wagner = drums, vocal 
Spencer Chakedis = mandolin, vocal 
Rebecca Tilles = bass, vocal 
Rachel Swaner = melodica, vocal 
Julie LaMendola = vocal 
Leslie Graves = vocal



We Also Recommend