Vinyl LP - 12 Crass Songs (Black Vinyl)

  • $20.99
    Unit price per 

Only 10 left!

Vinyl LP - "12 Crass Songs" on black vinyl

All songs are Jeffrey's reinterpretations of songs originally written 1978-1984 by the British anarchist punk band Crass. This "12 Crass Songs" album was recorded mostly at Major Matt Mason's Olive Juice home-studio in NYC circa 2006-2007, produced by Jeffrey Lewis and originally released on CD and LP by Rough Trade Records on Oct 1, 2007 in UK/Europe and Jan 29, 2008 in the USA.

(NOTE: THERE ARE TWO UNRELEASED BONUS TRACKS that come with the full album download! Acoustic demos of two Crass songs "Dry Weather" and "Bata Motel" recorded by Jeffrey Lewis around 2006 as candidates for possible inclusion on what became the 12 Crass Songs album.)


"Weird? Very... [...] but it's also downright inspiring" (4 of 5 stars) - Rolling Stone

"The record presents Crass’s lyrics calmly, often demonstrating how sane and practical they are; it proves once again, and kind of thrillingly this time, that no music is immune to interpretation" - The New York Times

"Jeffrey Lewis retunes [Crass'] vituperative, cats-and-gravel-in-a-blender sound into something approaching sunny-side-up...  more

Album originally released October 1, 2007

All songs originally written 1978-1984 by Crass members Steve Ignorant, Penny Rimbaud, Eve Libertine, Pete Wright, or Joy DeVivre; see individual tracks for specific writing and performing credits for each one.



1) End Result (orig. written by S. Ignorant)
2) I Ain't Thick, It's Just a Trick (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
3) Systematic Death (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
4) The Gasman Cometh (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
5) Banned From the Roxy (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
6) Where Next Colombus? (orig. written by E. Libertine)

7) Do They Owe Us a Living? (orig. written by S. Ignorant)
8) Securicor (orig. written by P. Wright)
9) Demoncrats (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
10) Big A, Little A (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
11) Punk Is Dead (orig. written by P. Rimbaud)
12) Walls (Fun In The Oven) (orig. written by J. DeVivre)


We Also Recommend